RC-Monster Forums  
RC Monster

Go Back   RC-Monster Forums > Support Forums > Team Tekin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Tekin help smoked my new rx8..
Old
  (#1)
XXXDAD
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
XXXDAD's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 57
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida , West Palm Beach
Tekin help smoked my new rx8.. - 05.16.2009, 06:57 PM


Ok I,ve done electric installs before using tekin.. this time FAILURE! Was it me.. Can you look at my wireing>? Yes set to 4 cell lipo foward/brake only. values were all low... hooked it up , would not go.. pushed it went , then stoped .. Click Click Click...... then shut it off at the switch. Herd and saw smoke..! Pooof! Crap... Am I the first to fryone? And WHY! Yes I bought it from you at monster... just wanted you to see if I did something wrong from the pic... or ... I just dont know. This is not my first time using Tekin... never had a problem. I'm getting sick.... gonna puke... Why Why!!!!!



Glenn Carlson
XXX-CR
XX-4 WED
8IGHT E
TEN SCT
Losi everything!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
E-Revonut
RC-Monster RC8T
 
E-Revonut's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,554
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Syracuse, New York (Camillus)
05.16.2009, 07:13 PM

I don't know the layout of the tekin posts but generally the 3 wires going to the motor are all next to each other and the two power wires are next to each other, not the way you have it


RC-Monster RC8T 1515 2.5D/MMM/5s RC-M 4500mah
SC10 MMPro 13.5T 2s NeuEnery 5000mah
RC18T Mamba 25/5400kv 2s lipo + 6s NiMh
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
rootar
RC-Monster Titanium
 
rootar's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 1,803
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: arkansas
05.16.2009, 07:51 PM

yup e-revonut said it..... my post arrangement on my tekin rs looks like this.......
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	track 091.jpg
Views:	424
Size:	72.7 KB
ID:	7009  
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
skellyo
RC-Monster Brushless
 
skellyo's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,465
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Florida
05.16.2009, 08:15 PM

Guys, his motor wiring is correct per the manual. The motor leads are separated by the power input leads.

Click image for larger version

Name:	rx8.jpg
Views:	360
Size:	28.9 KB
ID:	7010
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
rootar
RC-Monster Titanium
 
rootar's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 1,803
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: arkansas
05.16.2009, 08:18 PM

yup..... i was looking for pics of jim's rx8 installed to check and was just coming back to say he has them right..... i wonder why they changed the post layout?????
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
BrianG
RC-Monster Admin
 
BrianG's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 14,594
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Des Moines, IA
05.16.2009, 08:50 PM

Is there a brushed mode on that ESC?
  Send a message via Yahoo to BrianG Send a message via MSN to BrianG  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
suicideneil
They've been naughty boys, havent they Mr. Flibble
 
suicideneil's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 7,485
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Devon, England
05.16.2009, 08:54 PM

Different esc, different wiring.

I dunno, the wiring and soldering all looks sound in that picture, but it sounds like you had really bad cogging and it just went up in smoke. I would say double check and post all your settings just to see if something isnt quite right- it was set for BL and not brushed right (if thats even an option)? Just eliminating all the possibilities...
  Send a message via MSN to suicideneil  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
lutach
RC-Monster Dual Brushless
 
lutach's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 5,124
Join Date: Sep 2006
05.16.2009, 09:27 PM

If things are not working the way they are supposed to, why not check everything over instead of trying to make it work? If something cogs or doesn't move, that means something is wrong and just trying to give it more throttle would just make it fail. Maybe something shorted some where. This thread would also be better in Tekin's page so Team Tekin can see it right away and help you with this problem.
  Send a message via MSN to lutach  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
BrianG
RC-Monster Admin
 
BrianG's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 14,594
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Des Moines, IA
05.16.2009, 09:49 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by lutach View Post
...This thread would also be better in Tekin's page so Team Tekin can see it right away and help you with this problem.
Good point. Thread moved.
  Send a message via Yahoo to BrianG Send a message via MSN to BrianG  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
RUSTY XL-5
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
RUSTY XL-5's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 323
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Durham, N.C.
05.16.2009, 09:49 PM

I had a similar issue with a mm. LOTS of cogging, no throttle etc. Turned out to be a loose motor wire solder connection. Fixed it, and mm runs like it did before.


I will spank a nitro any day...guaranteed. :)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
XXXDAD
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
XXXDAD's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 57
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida , West Palm Beach
Angry 05.17.2009, 12:19 AM

Had it together for 2 min, then it went bad... was checking things out with the batt. conected and the switch off.. then the smoke started. I am very capable... just not happy not sure what happend...
all the settings were tripple checked before even turning the esc on... i'm a a loss for words....



Glenn Carlson
XXX-CR
XX-4 WED
8IGHT E
TEN SCT
Losi everything!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
XXXDAD
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
XXXDAD's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 57
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida , West Palm Beach
05.17.2009, 12:20 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianG View Post
Good point. Thread moved.
Brand new here,,, thank you!



Glenn Carlson
XXX-CR
XX-4 WED
8IGHT E
TEN SCT
Losi everything!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Freakycrawler
RC-Monster Stock
 
Offline
Posts: 22
Join Date: Apr 2009
05.17.2009, 07:17 AM

I sure hope its not Tekins fault, after all the mess CC made with their MMM's till now.

Btw, not bashing CC( i love cc products) only afraid that also tekin had released a product that isn't ready yet.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
RC-Monster Mike
Site Owner
 
RC-Monster Mike's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 4,696
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: PA
05.17.2009, 10:22 AM

The wiring looks correct. I am sure Tekin will take care of you, but I am curious about a couple things myself.
Do you have a hotwire? If so, does it work? And if it works, what are the settings on the esc?
When you pulled the trigger and it didn't go, that should have been a clue that something was wrong. Did the ESC arm itself when you turned the switch on? If it was in the wrong "motor mode", there should have been LEDs 1, 2, 6, and 7 flashing(error code). Once armed, the LEDs should ramp up and down when you apply and release the throttle(and if a motor is connected properly, it should accelerate and decelerate).
If itl et out smoke, it is a mute point I guess, but I am Sure Tekin will be curious to know the chain of events that lead to the smoke for trouble shooting purposes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
TekinTeamMgr
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
TekinTeamMgr's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 235
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: California
05.17.2009, 08:10 PM

I've answered this on a few other threads already but since it's here.

If the wrong motor type was chosen, the Rx8 will not arm.

It could have been either a bad solder joint but judging by the pictures alone this doesn't appear to be the case.

Hard to say much more without seeing it. But like I said in the other thread, we will stand behind our products and make it right.

Contact me and we'll take care of it:

support@teamtekin.com or Rpike@teamtekin.com
  Send a message via Yahoo to TekinTeamMgr  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



RC Monster




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com