RC-Monster Forums  
RC Monster

Go Back   RC-Monster Forums > Support Forums > T/E Maxx Parts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Trying to catch up
Old
  (#1)
mmdooley
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
mmdooley's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 472
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Wynne ( when ) Ark.
Trying to catch up - 03.20.2013, 04:45 PM

Hi all, I have been out of R/C for awhile and I don't know much about the new e-maxx format. All my maxx's are old style. My question is, Will the new e-maxx transmission (16.8) fit in an old (14.4) chassis? One good thing about having old parts is I have a G3 G-maxx chassis and G-maxx arms and shock towers that seam to be very popular these days. I will take photos and post the build here. thanks


WE DON'T STOP PLAYING WHEN WE GET OLD. WE GET OLD WHEN WE STOP PLAYING.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
Blazerss
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
Offline
Posts: 209
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
03.20.2013, 06:30 PM

It varies slightly from chassis to chassis, but for the most part the new transmission won't fit in the older chassis's that were made for the old 2 speed transmission. The G1-G3 it is impossible without serious modification, I have tried numerous times. The G4 was made for the new transmissions though.

If you had an old FLM chassis you can make the newer transmission fit in it.

I will say the new single speed transmissions by Traxxas are very stout. I run my truck on 5s on a completely stock transmission and have bent CVDs and stripped 1/8 scale diffs, but haven't hurt the stock trans.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
mmdooley
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
mmdooley's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 472
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Wynne ( when ) Ark.
03.21.2013, 08:07 PM

Thanks For the info Blazerss, Yes I do have an older FLM chassis and I will try the newer transmission on it. Would Mike's slipperraential work in a G-3 build?




Offline
Posts: 697
Join Date: May 2008


WE DON'T STOP PLAYING WHEN WE GET OLD. WE GET OLD WHEN WE STOP PLAYING.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Klausen
Brushless G-maxx
 
Klausen's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 378
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Denmark
03.22.2013, 12:40 PM

You could make the sliperential work with one of the custommade centerdiff mounts from Gumleguf. I am not sure if you will be able to find one, as it was only made in a very limited batch (about 50 I think). It is made to use with the RC-Monster motormount and a centerdiff.

Maybe Gumleguf can chime in on the possibility of making more?

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
_paralyzed_
working on a brushless for my wheelchair.....
 
_paralyzed_'s Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 4,890
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: minnesnowta
03.22.2013, 01:20 PM

To expand on what BlazerSS wrote, you can make a newer tranny fit an older flm chassis with an adapter plate flm use to make. Actually, the newer tranny would fit almost any older chassis with the adapter plate flm used to make.

It is not a direct bolt in fit.

FLM doesn't show the plate on their website, but you may still be able to acquire one if you contact them.


_______________________________________

It's "Dr. _paralyzed_" actually. Not like with a PhD, but Doctor like in Dr. Pepper.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
gumleguf
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
gumleguf's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 226
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Europe
03.22.2013, 02:54 PM

Everything is possible. :)
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



RC Monster




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com