RC-Monster Forums  
RC Monster

Go Back   RC-Monster Forums > Support Forums > Castle Creations

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Are the new censored motors stronger then the old ones?
Old
  (#1)
Dragonfueled
Nore more bump boxes and after run oil
 
Offline
Posts: 91
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Linden NJ
Are the new censored motors stronger then the old ones? - 04.16.2017, 05:25 PM

I feel like if im gonnna run sensorless i should use the old motors. My tiny head thinks the old ones would be stronger because the sensors arent taking up any room. Just wondering power wise for speed runs what would be better?


Brushless ..... I put that s... In everything.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
Kcaz25
RC-Monster Titanium
 
Kcaz25's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 1,378
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
04.16.2017, 10:27 PM

Once a sensored motor gets moving fast the sensors aren't doing anything. I think your hunch is right unless the can is longer
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
RC-Monster Mike
Site Owner
 
RC-Monster Mike's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 4,915
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: PA
04.17.2017, 10:09 AM

I think a quality 2 pole motor is ideal for speed runs(Lehner, for instance). Sensors are nice for startup - not a factor for top speed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Dragonfueled
Nore more bump boxes and after run oil
 
Offline
Posts: 91
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Linden NJ
04.18.2017, 11:13 AM

Yeah i was thinking more along the lines of if the new castle 2200 would be stronger then the old one. Maybe better materiels or something like that. I know sensors dont matter at speed but that seems to be their new flagship motor


Brushless ..... I put that s... In everything.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
nitrostarter
RC-Monster Brushless
 
nitrostarter's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 3,093
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Gramercy, LA
04.19.2017, 09:48 AM

IIRC, they are going to replace the sensorless with the sensored versions.


N. Rustler conversion
  Send a message via AIM to nitrostarter  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Kcaz25
RC-Monster Titanium
 
Kcaz25's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 1,378
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
04.19.2017, 10:04 AM

Iirc castle motors are 4 poles which have more power than 2 poles but 2 poles have higher rpm limits making them potentially faster. No?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
RC-Monster Mike
Site Owner
 
RC-Monster Mike's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 4,915
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: PA
04.19.2017, 04:44 PM

More Poles results in more low-rpm torque, not more power. IMO, 2 poles are better for top speed aspirations, as they hold power higher into the rpms vs the higher pole motors, and have a broad efficiency range. Higher pole motors tend to have more low end power and narrower efficiency range. 4 pole motors are pretty ideal for most RC applications and work well for top speed, though I would give the edge to a 2 pole motor(for top speed).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
BrianG
RC-Monster Admin
 
BrianG's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 14,606
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Des Moines, IA
04.19.2017, 05:41 PM

You could always gear up a 4 pole more to compensate for lack of max power at max rpm, within reason of course. Typically top speeds are only attained for a relatively short time compared to the rest of a run, so efficiency at max rpm is not really a big concern.
  Send a message via Yahoo to BrianG Send a message via MSN to BrianG  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
RC-Monster Mike
Site Owner
 
RC-Monster Mike's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 4,915
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: PA
04.20.2017, 07:52 PM

Efficiency is low on the list of concerns - its all about rpms and power to get deep into the 100s(130-150mph).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
phildogg
RC-Monster Aluminum
 
phildogg's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 699
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n.c.
04.22.2017, 07:51 AM

Honestly everyone is running 4 pole motors for speed runs now.


_______________________________
Slash 4x4 163mph
drc rail 150 mph
phildogg6@yahoo.com
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1g...MR6SqQkehkevwA
my youtube channel
  Send a message via Yahoo to phildogg Send a message via AIM to phildogg  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
RC-Monster Mike
Site Owner
 
RC-Monster Mike's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 4,915
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: PA
04.22.2017, 08:52 AM

There aren't a lot of 2 pole motors out there to choose from really - 4 pole motors are pretty ideal for RC and are far more available....lots of Neu motor equivalents or knockoffs out there to choose from. Setup is more important than pole count in reality - the power is the easy part once you get deep into the 100mph range.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Kcaz25
RC-Monster Titanium
 
Kcaz25's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 1,378
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
04.22.2017, 10:39 AM

But aren't i correct that 2 poles have higher rpm limits?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Arct1k
RC-Monster Mod
 
Arct1k's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 6,593
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NJ
04.25.2017, 03:42 PM

Less switching so assume that would help esc
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



RC Monster




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com