RC-Monster Forums  
RC Monster

Go Back   RC-Monster Forums > Support Forums > GorillaMaxx

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Sweet deal...Gorillamaxx revo chassis cheap
Old
  (#1)
revo2200kv
RC-Monster Stock
 
Offline
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2012
Sweet deal...Gorillamaxx revo chassis cheap - 04.27.2012, 09:14 AM

Hello fellow GorillaMaxxers. Check out what I got at a local garage sale. Its a GorillaMaxx Revo chassis and a G1 single speed transmission. I believe the transmission has the UE gears in it. Got all this for $50. Its missing the front upper and lower plates. Fabrication time.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9851.jpg
Views:	786
Size:	39.8 KB
ID:	10327   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9849.jpg
Views:	633
Size:	35.5 KB
ID:	10328   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9858.jpg
Views:	622
Size:	52.7 KB
ID:	10329  

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
RC-Monster Mike
Site Owner
 
RC-Monster Mike's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 4,915
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: PA
04.27.2012, 09:42 AM

Sweet deal - that looks like it is a G3R chassis - the front upper plate is a no-brainer but the lower plate has a double bend and is much trickier to make. The single sped looks like it has stock gears with a brass idler(possibly UltraMaxx) - UE idlers looks the same but were hardened steel and my dilers were hardened steel with radial grooves instead of holes. :-)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
nitrostarter
RC-Monster Brushless
 
nitrostarter's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 3,156
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Gramercy, LA
04.27.2012, 09:54 AM

For $50, that's a steal!!! Nice find!!


N. Rustler conversion
  Send a message via AIM to nitrostarter  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
jayjay283
RC-Monster Titanium
 
jayjay283's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 1,777
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Illinois
04.27.2012, 11:14 AM

bargain of the month !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
Kcaz25
RC-Monster Titanium
 
Kcaz25's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 1,412
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
04.27.2012, 11:17 AM

Bargain of the year!! Crazy!! I'm jealous! lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
revo2200kv
RC-Monster Stock
 
Offline
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2012
04.28.2012, 10:39 AM

Many thanks. I haven't started fabrication yet. I found many pics on the forum here and on the web of the front skid. I am hoping it wont be that difficult. I have a coworker that has so much material(aluminum, steel, titanium) and he has more knowledge than I do about building stuff like this. Ha I am already thinking about building more chassies and hopefully single speed plates.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
revo2200kv
RC-Monster Stock
 
Offline
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2012
05.01.2012, 04:01 PM

Quick question about the skid plates.Can someone please tell me if the G3R skidplates replace the old ones or do they just bolt on bottom of the original ones? A few pics would be ok.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
RC-Monster Mike
Site Owner
 
RC-Monster Mike's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 4,915
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: PA
05.01.2012, 04:08 PM

The G2R and G3R skids bolt over the stock skids. The kits included a few washers to take up the space where needed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
revo2200kv
RC-Monster Stock
 
Offline
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2012
05.26.2012, 07:12 PM

Hey fellas whats up? Ha skid plate 101 is harder than I thought. But I just bought a complete G2R kit off of EBAY. So hopefully having the stuff I need I can make more skids and spacers and stuff. Hey does anyone know of a place or company or a person that can make or duplicate the single speed plate? Or would that be illegal?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
suicideneil
They've been naughty boys, havent they Mr. Flibble
 
suicideneil's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 7,490
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Devon, England
05.27.2012, 09:36 AM

Which part do you mean specifically- the tranny case part, or just the 'hub' part that the 2nd gear output presses into to lock it into gear? It would be much easier to reproduce the latter with just a lathe and vertical mill- the tranny case part would be a fecking nightmare without a cnc and the original cad file...
  Send a message via MSN to suicideneil  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
revo2200kv
RC-Monster Stock
 
Offline
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2012
05.27.2012, 10:53 AM

I didnt think about the hub part. I was thinking more about the plate instead. So I assuming that it would also be expensive to have someone make it for me also.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
_paralyzed_
working on a brushless for my wheelchair.....
 
_paralyzed_'s Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 4,890
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: minnesnowta
05.27.2012, 01:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by revo2200kv View Post
I didnt think about the hub part. I was thinking more about the plate instead. So I assuming that it would also be expensive to have someone make it for me also.
It'd be very expensive.


_______________________________________

It's "Dr. _paralyzed_" actually. Not like with a PhD, but Doctor like in Dr. Pepper.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
suicideneil
They've been naughty boys, havent they Mr. Flibble
 
suicideneil's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 7,490
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Devon, England
05.28.2012, 12:18 PM

FYI though, you don't actually need it in order to have a single speed tranny- so long as you have the hub part that goes inside the tranny, you can lock it into 2nd gear. The replacement case part does mean you save a little bit of weight, but it's very little compared to the weight of the truck as a whole...
  Send a message via MSN to suicideneil  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
_paralyzed_
working on a brushless for my wheelchair.....
 
_paralyzed_'s Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 4,890
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: minnesnowta
05.28.2012, 01:44 PM

save weight... like a few grams matters when we put 3hp+ motors in these toys!


_______________________________________

It's "Dr. _paralyzed_" actually. Not like with a PhD, but Doctor like in Dr. Pepper.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
gumleguf
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
gumleguf's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 226
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Europe
05.29.2012, 05:27 AM

Oh, no you didn't! Lucky you. :)
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



RC Monster




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com