RC-Monster Forums  
RC Monster

Go Back   RC-Monster Forums > RC-Monster Area > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old
  (#16)
radioman193
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
radioman193's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 237
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dansville NY
05.18.2011, 09:10 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by brainanator View Post
built an autopilot for one of my professors (college credit for playing with an RC plane FTW!) and it had all the gyros, bells, pitot tubes, gps, and whistles. Pretty sweet stuff.
yep it is kind of cool to do things that most people would not do.
and don't think you should do
or do things people say will not work.

that is how we learn what can and can not be done
and to find a way that it Can be done .

just remember this most of the inventions we use on a day to day basis were a mistake
or a failed attempt at something other than what they were trying for
Or Got ridiculed for doing what thay felt was a good thing and would work.


If man went by the "book" and Never tired to do something they were told would not work or would be useless ..... remember these
The horseless carriage / Automobile
flying machine / the Airplane
The Auto gyro / Helicopter
Penicillin
and the list goes on for a Long ways

"most" of the people that tell you things like this have No first hand experience on the matter
they have only hear say then try to preach it like its gospel fact.


Just Fix It !!!
I have been into electronics for 30+ years
and am a licensed Electronics Technician for over 26 years now.

  Send a message via AIM to radioman193  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
mothman
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
Offline
Posts: 338
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Indiana
05.19.2011, 03:16 PM

Hey radioman, glad to see this thread. I have been wanting to put a gyro on my savage. I was thinking to put this on my truck since I can get one for quite cheap ~$30

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXVA42&P=7.

I prefer the reliability of futaba as compared to esky. Do you think it will work?
  Send a message via Yahoo to mothman Send a message via AIM to mothman Send a message via MSN to mothman  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
radioman193
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
radioman193's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 237
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dansville NY
05.19.2011, 05:59 PM

Cool
Im not shure just what the benefit would be in a 4x4 MT as i have not tryed it
in Mine yet..
My Main concern is how that gyro would hold up in a MT if you start Bashing with it ..
and my other concern is this...
"This gyro performs best when used with non-Digital servos."

and cool it only needs your Steering Ch1 to work you will not be able to control
the Gyro on the "fly" from your TX but will work.


$30 looks to be a good deal i would say what the hey and give it a try .....
just Remember this .
Never get them wet
and Gyros Don't like vibration and strong Shock.

you can help by usen epoxi on it
just coat the boards inside it ....
after testing it out and getting it all setup and adjusted you then can coat EVERYTHING on the Gyro cover the Gain control and all ....
just dont cover the FWD / REV or your AVCS switches

Even if you dont get it wet the Epoxi will Aid in maken it more Solid
and help protect it from vibration and shock ....

Just remember these Gyros were Built for helicopters not our land based Rc's so
they were not built to take alot of vibration and strong Shock or water.
The Epoxi is a Good Quick Solid Fix for this ....

well I will shut up for now just let me know what you have done and how it works for you.
Thanks.


Just Fix It !!!
I have been into electronics for 30+ years
and am a licensed Electronics Technician for over 26 years now.


Last edited by radioman193; 05.19.2011 at 06:12 PM.
  Send a message via AIM to radioman193  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
mothman
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
Offline
Posts: 338
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Indiana
05.20.2011, 01:51 AM

Thanks for the reply radioman. I was wondering if normal piezoelectric like this http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXKTT2&P=7
would be better for car use? The one that I showed uses electronic sensor. Which one do you think has higher reliability?

I don't really bash my MT, just want something to help with my bad driving skill.
  Send a message via Yahoo to mothman Send a message via AIM to mothman Send a message via MSN to mothman  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
radioman193
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
radioman193's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 237
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dansville NY
05.20.2011, 02:10 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mothman View Post
Thanks for the reply radioman. I was wondering if normal piezoelectric like this http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXKTT2&P=7
would be better for car use? The one that I showed uses electronic sensor. Which one do you think has higher reliability?

I don't really bash my MT, just want something to help with my bad driving skill.
do you have a 2Ch or 3Ch radio system?

if you have a 3Ch just get the one like i have
a dude on the Blitz forum just got His today

walker
Member Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Onalaska,wa
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Well I got my gyro in and all I can say sweeeeeeeet it is way to much fun I wish I would have done this a long time ago.
problem is I can not hardly drive with out it now If I turn it off I'am all over the place owell I guess I well have to put one in all my rc's like I said it is way to cool .Thanks radioman for the idea .
thanks for all the info an help made it real easy to hook up.


This is the one i have and use.
ek2-0704B look here you can get it for like $20
http://shop.ebay.com/i.html?_from=R4...All-Categories


but if you have only a 2Ch

get the first one you posted ...

or the one i posted

ek2-0704 Not the ek2-0704B


Just Fix It !!!
I have been into electronics for 30+ years
and am a licensed Electronics Technician for over 26 years now.


Last edited by radioman193; 05.20.2011 at 02:25 AM.
  Send a message via AIM to radioman193  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
mothman
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
Offline
Posts: 338
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Indiana
05.20.2011, 05:33 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by radioman193 View Post
do you have a 2Ch or 3Ch radio system?
I have 3 channel radio, futaba 3pm fasst. I know the e-sky works perfectly but I prefer the reliability of futaba stuff and I can get this stuff quite cheap.
  Send a message via Yahoo to mothman Send a message via AIM to mothman Send a message via MSN to mothman  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
radioman193
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
radioman193's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 237
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dansville NY
05.20.2011, 06:08 AM

its your call.....
"reliability" is out the door when used in a land based Car/Truck..
A "out of the package" Gyro will not last long No matter what Name is on the label.
Unless you do something to Make it last.

But get the one you wish to get
I can link you to some that are $200 or more if you wish to have a name brand .
Thay ALL do the same thing.

All i Do know is i have BEAT THE HE!! out of this one with No Glitches or Problems.

good luck to you in what ever one you buy .


Just Fix It !!!
I have been into electronics for 30+ years
and am a licensed Electronics Technician for over 26 years now.


Last edited by radioman193; 05.20.2011 at 06:09 AM.
  Send a message via AIM to radioman193  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
JoFreak
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
JoFreak's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 447
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Munich
05.20.2011, 07:15 PM

Hey radioman, do you think it would be possible to use the gyro to counteract traction rolling?
Mount the gyro vertikaly and set it so it gives a short steering impulse into the direction the truck is leaning into?
So for example, if the chassis leans right, over 30 or something, while steering left, the gyro gives a steering imput to the right until chassis lean is below 30 again?

May lead to a few contacts with the track boundary, but shouldn't be a problem for an SC? Better than rolling over and waiting till someone puts it back on it's wheels.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
radioman193
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
radioman193's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 237
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dansville NY
05.20.2011, 09:11 PM

Im not shure Hmmmmm
the guro dont react to a lean ...
it only reacts to a pivot on one axis and cant be set to react at a certain degree
But by what you are asking you can try the Gyro with the Switch in NORMAL
and see what that does
with the gyro set upright "wires up top"
it just might work .

#1 with the switch in normal if you pivot LEFT Gyro would turn the wheels LEFT

#2 with the Switch in REV and pivot LEFT the Gyro would turn the wheels RIGHT


Just Fix It !!!
I have been into electronics for 30+ years
and am a licensed Electronics Technician for over 26 years now.


Last edited by radioman193; 05.20.2011 at 09:23 PM.
  Send a message via AIM to radioman193  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
mothman
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
Offline
Posts: 338
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Indiana
05.23.2011, 01:00 PM

Radioman, maybe you should try this on your truck..

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1427708
  Send a message via Yahoo to mothman Send a message via AIM to mothman Send a message via MSN to mothman  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#26)
radioman193
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
radioman193's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 237
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dansville NY
05.23.2011, 07:25 PM

i dont need that.......

I just need to put like NASCAR Roof Flaps in the roof of my car
to keep the car on the ground.

The wind gets under the Body and i end up with a blow over.


Just Fix It !!!
I have been into electronics for 30+ years
and am a licensed Electronics Technician for over 26 years now.


Last edited by radioman193; 05.23.2011 at 07:43 PM.
  Send a message via AIM to radioman193  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#27)
Semi Pro
RC-Monster Titanium
 
Semi Pro's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 1,402
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Twin Citys Mn
05.28.2011, 11:18 PM

so i bought the ek2-0704B but when i set it up with my dx3r in my traxxas rally all i get is a slow flashing led on the gyro, and clue what did wrong? lol, i fallowed your instructions, sorry i haven't tried a gyro on land before and I'm alittle lost

could it be the stock non digital servo thats the issue?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Semi Pro View Post
......maybe they want to be more like novak
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianG View Post
I'm telling Patrick you said that!

Last edited by Semi Pro; 05.28.2011 at 11:20 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
radioman193
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
radioman193's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 237
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dansville NY
05.29.2011, 02:54 AM

I know Nothing about the dx3r Tx

the yellow wire is on Ch3?
and your tx ch3 needs to be on when you turn the rc on.

"For My radio all i needed to do was....
just plug it in to Ch1 on the RX
the yellow wire to Ch3 on the RX
Flip the switch on the Gyro to REV
Turn on the TX

turn on the Rc.. Wait for the Gyro to set its self about 3 seconds"

if the gyro DON'T see a signal on ch3 it will not initialize .



Just Fix It !!!
I have been into electronics for 30+ years
and am a licensed Electronics Technician for over 26 years now.


Last edited by radioman193; 05.29.2011 at 03:00 AM.
  Send a message via AIM to radioman193  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
Semi Pro
RC-Monster Titanium
 
Semi Pro's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 1,402
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Twin Citys Mn
05.29.2011, 07:25 PM

well i have tired it with 2 diffrent radios and many diffrent servos, the best i have gotten out of it that been alittle servo flutter then nothing, i think i may have got a bad one


Quote:
Originally Posted by Semi Pro View Post
......maybe they want to be more like novak
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianG View Post
I'm telling Patrick you said that!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#30)
radioman193
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
radioman193's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 237
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dansville NY
05.29.2011, 08:01 PM

so its not dong Nothing like the one in the first part the last video i posted ?


Just Fix It !!!
I have been into electronics for 30+ years
and am a licensed Electronics Technician for over 26 years now.

  Send a message via AIM to radioman193  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



RC Monster




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com