RC-Monster Forums  
RC Monster

Go Back   RC-Monster Forums > RC-Monster Area > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Servo Question
Old
  (#1)
AP Alex
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
AP Alex's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 146
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South Carolina
Servo Question - 10.07.2013, 10:28 AM

How do you check if a servo is going bad? It will turn great to the right, but will barely move to the left. Took horn off and same issue.

Thanks for input
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
BrianG
RC-Monster Admin
 
BrianG's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 14,609
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Des Moines, IA
10.07.2013, 08:00 PM

Sounds like one of the "axle" (from one of the gear assemblies inside) holes are elongating. Happened to me a while back on a cheap servo that didn't reinforce those plastic areas with some kind of bushing.
  Send a message via Yahoo to BrianG Send a message via MSN to BrianG  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Justinbolin
Hugo Stiglitz
 
Offline
Posts: 46
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Corona, Ca
10.08.2013, 06:40 AM

I use to burn up servos all the time in my first EMaxx truck that I converted to brushless 6,7 years ago. And I was killing them 2 at a time. I fixed the issue by going with higher end servos.
Not sure what rc your having your servo issues with.
If I knew I'd give you a couple recommendations.

Here's a few things I look for in a servo when I buy one:
-1) More torque then I'll ever need.
-2) Coreless motor.
-3) Steel or titanium gears.

I stopped having servo issues when I dropped a hitec 7995 servo in my truck.

You also want to make sure you have your endpoints set correctly and there's no binding in your steering linkage.
If you have a decent transmitter (not an RTR radio) you should be able to set up your endpoints pretty easily. I think not having my endpoints set properly was why I kept killing servos in my EMaxx.

Justin


[1] Gorillamaxx G4 w/Flexteks
[1] Gorillamaxx G4 w/RacerX
[1] Gorillamaxx G4 w/G3.3

"No one can resist my Schwetty balls"[/b]

Last edited by Justinbolin; 10.08.2013 at 06:42 AM.
  Send a message via Yahoo to Justinbolin  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
AP Alex
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
AP Alex's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 146
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South Carolina
10.08.2013, 11:34 AM

I will double check, but I think it is a Hitec high torque servo. That's usually all I use.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



RC Monster




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com