RC Monster

Go Back   RC-Monster Forums > Support Forums > Crawlers/Scale Vehicles

My new crawler!
Old
  (#1)
What's_nitro?
Soldermaster Extraordinaire

Talking My new crawler! - 11.29.2008, 01:18 AM

It's official- I finally bought myself a rock crawler kit!

I was going to buy a Kyosho Rockforce solely based on the fact that it had worm drive axles. However, I went on to Amainhobbies and put it in my shopping cart and by the time I clicked "continue" it was showing out of stock! I could've back-ordered it, but then I couldn't use the 10% off code(?).

So, I bought this instead. It includes everything pictured except the tires, which I have.

And two of these:

I think I got the last two Sidewinders... Sorry guys! Now all I need are the two motors/pinions and a good steering servo. Oh, and a body!

Do you guys have any suggestions? As I am COMPLETELY new to crawling, I'm open to all opinions! I was thinking of using two HH Crawlmaster outrunners, since I just got one for my Blizzard and it's great (thanks JRH)! The Sidewinders are limited to 3s (right?) so 3s it will be. The HHCm's are 1000kV, so it'll be ~11,000 rpm WOT. The trannys have a 36.67:1 ratio which makes it ~300 rpm at the wheels. With a 4.5" tire that means a 4 mph top speed. My only question (right now) is: How are the Sidewinders at low speed compared to the MM, or, the MMM?

I am faster than Buzz Lightyear.

Last edited by What's_nitro?; 11.29.2008 at 01:21 AM.

Old
  (#2)
dirt101
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber

11.29.2008, 08:33 AM

what crawler is that.

rustler, lx2e, xxt cr

Old
  (#3)
lincpimp
Check out my huge box!

11.29.2008, 12:37 PM

Enroute Berg....