RC-Monster Forums  
RC Monster

Go Back   RC-Monster Forums > Support Forums > Castle Creations

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
mamba xlx questions
Old
  (#1)
phildogg
RC-Monster Aluminum
 
phildogg's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 702
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n.c.
mamba xlx questions - 03.30.2016, 08:49 PM

Ok I have read that the x series has added safety protection and throttles back the high amp draw that was seen with the xl2. Is this correct? A friend of mine has one in a 1/8 scale car and it runs like it is at half throttle. surely they aren't regulated back that much? I hear its because of the warranty issues from people using the xl2 esc incorrectly geared and trying speed runs when they had no clue what they were doing. please enlighten me on if this is true.


_______________________________
Slash 4x4 163mph
drc rail 150 mph
phildogg6@yahoo.com
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1g...MR6SqQkehkevwA
my youtube channel
  Send a message via Yahoo to phildogg Send a message via AIM to phildogg  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
phildogg
RC-Monster Aluminum
 
phildogg's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 702
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n.c.
04.04.2016, 09:41 PM

Crickets!!!


_______________________________
Slash 4x4 163mph
drc rail 150 mph
phildogg6@yahoo.com
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1g...MR6SqQkehkevwA
my youtube channel
  Send a message via Yahoo to phildogg Send a message via AIM to phildogg  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Pdelcast
RC-Monster Titanium
 
Pdelcast's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 1,697
Join Date: Mar 2008
04.07.2016, 07:20 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by phildogg View Post
Crickets!!!
More info?

There are several things that can cause throttle-back.

Setup and ESC settings would be a good place to start.

Most often it's Lipo related -- the ESC sees Lipo voltage drop to an unsafe level, and throttles back. This is to prevent the Lipos from burning up.


Patrick del Castillo
President, Principle Engineer
Castle Creations

Last edited by Pdelcast; 04.07.2016 at 07:21 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
phildogg
RC-Monster Aluminum
 
phildogg's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 702
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n.c.
04.07.2016, 07:29 PM

Well the xl2 you can set up current limit to 300a and on xlx its lower right? they just don't run like the xl2 do. setup is all the same. well except for the ability to set amp current higher. The xlx i hear has some new software that prevents it from making the same power as xl2. Is this true?


_______________________________
Slash 4x4 163mph
drc rail 150 mph
phildogg6@yahoo.com
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1g...MR6SqQkehkevwA
my youtube channel
  Send a message via Yahoo to phildogg Send a message via AIM to phildogg  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
phildogg
RC-Monster Aluminum
 
phildogg's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 702
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n.c.
04.07.2016, 09:38 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pdelcast View Post
More info?

There are several things that can cause throttle-back.

Setup and ESC settings would be a good place to start.

Most often it's Lipo related -- the ESC sees Lipo voltage drop to an unsafe level, and throttles back. This is to prevent the Lipos from burning up.
This is also with no lipo cutoff. so not it. it only happens with the new xlx esc.


_______________________________
Slash 4x4 163mph
drc rail 150 mph
phildogg6@yahoo.com
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1g...MR6SqQkehkevwA
my youtube channel
  Send a message via Yahoo to phildogg Send a message via AIM to phildogg  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Dr_T
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
Dr_T's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 133
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
04.12.2016, 05:12 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pdelcast View Post
Most often it's Lipo related -- the ESC sees Lipo voltage drop to an unsafe level, and throttles back. This is to prevent the Lipos from burning up.
Patrick, is that a new feature / has it been changed with the X series compared to XL2 and the previous Mamba Monsters? Can you please explain a bit more on what parameters (Voltage, Current, also ripple?) the ESCs use to determine whether to throttle back, and what the thresholds/limits (V, A, etc?) are at which the safety feature(s) is/are triggered?

Here's a log of 0verkill's 1/8 Truggy geared for 153 mph no-load with a CC1515 and MMX. Log indicates some bad-ass ripple and Voltage dipping to 3.28V Cell, and based on low RPM and relatively (considering the gearing) low peak Current, it seems ESC is holding back, no?



Quote:
Originally Posted by phildogg View Post
Ok I have read that the x series has added safety protection and throttles back the high amp draw that was seen with the xl2. Is this correct? A friend of mine has one in a 1/8 scale car and it runs like it is at half throttle. surely they aren't regulated back that much? I hear its because of the warranty issues from people using the xl2 esc incorrectly geared and trying speed runs when they had no clue what they were doing. please enlighten me on if this is true.
Phill, do you have some of your friend's XLX logs to show how it is holding back?

Last edited by Dr_T; 04.12.2016 at 05:21 AM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
phildogg
RC-Monster Aluminum
 
phildogg's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 702
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n.c.
04.12.2016, 09:12 AM

I believe so. Funny thing is the x series are very limited esc. Mmx too. We can't get a honest answer either.


_______________________________
Slash 4x4 163mph
drc rail 150 mph
phildogg6@yahoo.com
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1g...MR6SqQkehkevwA
my youtube channel
  Send a message via Yahoo to phildogg Send a message via AIM to phildogg  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
0verkill
RC-Monster Stock
 
Offline
Posts: 10
Join Date: Aug 2015
04.12.2016, 03:34 PM

Yes, the ripple voltage was bad on that over geared run. Phil, what's your ripple voltage on your passes?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
phildogg
RC-Monster Aluminum
 
phildogg's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 702
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n.c.
04.12.2016, 06:59 PM



_______________________________
Slash 4x4 163mph
drc rail 150 mph
phildogg6@yahoo.com
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1g...MR6SqQkehkevwA
my youtube channel

Last edited by phildogg; 04.12.2016 at 07:01 PM.
  Send a message via Yahoo to phildogg Send a message via AIM to phildogg  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
phildogg
RC-Monster Aluminum
 
phildogg's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 702
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n.c.
04.15.2016, 09:42 PM

Here is a video rawsteel just put out.. check it out he talks about the problems we are seeing with these esc that castle won't comment on.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=foiRZU5UVTA


_______________________________
Slash 4x4 163mph
drc rail 150 mph
phildogg6@yahoo.com
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1g...MR6SqQkehkevwA
my youtube channel
  Send a message via Yahoo to phildogg Send a message via AIM to phildogg  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
Dr_T
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
Dr_T's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 133
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
04.16.2016, 04:34 AM

Thanks for posting Phil, curious what's going on here. If it's really a deliberate firmware restriction, I'm hoping Castle will end up adding a Tesla-like "use at own risk" ludicrous, or berserko mode.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
phildogg
RC-Monster Aluminum
 
phildogg's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 702
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n.c.
04.16.2016, 11:50 AM

Yes it has to be too many people with the same problem. There was a write up on facebook i'll post here also confirming whats going on. I have witnessed the mmx doing this myself. seems limited to a certain current. on data log 3s pulled 152, went to 4s same setup amps only climbed to 159 . it should have shot up much higher.

Facebook write up:
"Ok guys, I've got some bad news for some of you. I talked to Castle today and they confirmed that they have implemented a much more aggressive current limiting strategy in ALL their ESCs in firmware versions 1.26 and later to reduce their failure rate. That means that Castle ESCs will no longer surge to ~2X their rated continuous power for speedrun applications. You will still probably get short peeks of higher current, but the long 4-5 second surges we have grown used to may be a thing of the past. The good news is that in-run Voltage sag will probably be lower, so the “average” power you get over a run may end up being a little higher (I still need to work through the math to confirm this, though)

Continuous ratings for the current crop of Castle ESCs are listed below.
Sidewinder 1/10 Scale: 70 Amps
Sidewinder 8th Scale: 90 Amps
Mamba Max Pro 1/10 Scale: 100 Amps
Mamba Monster 1/2/X: 120 Amps
Mamba Monster XL2: 150 Amps
Mamba Monster XLX: 160 Amps

Don’t shoot the messenger. ;-)

Castle Creations Inc.Bashers United "


_______________________________
Slash 4x4 163mph
drc rail 150 mph
phildogg6@yahoo.com
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1g...MR6SqQkehkevwA
my youtube channel

Last edited by phildogg; 04.16.2016 at 12:15 PM.
  Send a message via Yahoo to phildogg Send a message via AIM to phildogg  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Dr_T
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
Dr_T's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 133
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
04.17.2016, 06:21 PM

Interesting post Phil, thanks for sharing here; from your experience and 0verkill's it seems the MMX is limited to around 150A though? Which on 6S is still enough to get to 100+mph in an 1/8 scale, ...just with less ludicrous acceleration. For most that might not be such a bad thing after all. For you hard-core speedrun guys pursuing those epic 130+mph speeds, 150A probably isn't enough though...

Apart from that, what I think is weird in rawsteele's video, is that acceleration on 6S is lower than 3S..., that means Current is limited more at 6S than at 3S. If current was limited to same level, acceleration would be equal, but 6S would pull that acceleration longer, resulting in higher top... So something doesn't make sense. Maybe something did get screwed in the firmware somehow - if so, that should be fixable. And who knows, maybe they will throw in a Nic Case mode :).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
phildogg
RC-Monster Aluminum
 
phildogg's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 702
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n.c.
04.17.2016, 09:05 PM

maybe its watts its limited or when a burst current is hit. I'm not sure never ran my mmx on 6s. I'm going back with a mmm,or mm2 instead of mmx in my current car. see the difference then.


_______________________________
Slash 4x4 163mph
drc rail 150 mph
phildogg6@yahoo.com
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1g...MR6SqQkehkevwA
my youtube channel
  Send a message via Yahoo to phildogg Send a message via AIM to phildogg  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
nitrostarter
RC-Monster Brushless
 
nitrostarter's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 3,156
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Gramercy, LA
04.17.2016, 09:25 PM

From the video, it looks like as soon as 6s is plugged in the esc cuts power. Maybe it does limit but amperage but it sure looks like it's tied to input voltage as well.


N. Rustler conversion
  Send a message via AIM to nitrostarter  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



RC Monster




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com