RC-Monster Forums  
RC Monster

Go Back   RC-Monster Forums > RC-Monster Area > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
how to reverse a servo in this application?
Old
  (#1)
mamba max1
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
mamba max1's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 127
Join Date: Jun 2010
how to reverse a servo in this application? - 02.23.2011, 01:43 PM

Hey all,


Long story short, I made a swiveling camera mount attached via a Y harness to my steering servo. Made it this way so that the camera faces where the truck turns. Only problem, is the cam mount servo runs reverse to my steering direction. Because of how its hooked up, reversing its direction via my remote wont work. I know I could buy a servo reverser, but I'd rather save my money. So, is there a way I can reverse something in the servo by soldering? I'm fairly decent at soldering so I'm not afraid of attacking the circuit board (plus the servo is a cheepie)


Thanks :)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
What's_nitro?
Soldermaster Extraordinaire
 
What's_nitro?'s Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 4,529
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Plymouth, MA, USA
02.23.2011, 02:05 PM

Point the servo horn 180* from where it is now. Then it will "pull" the camera where it now "pushes" it. A picture would help, too.


I am faster than Buzz Lightyear.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
E-Revonut
RC-Monster RC8T
 
E-Revonut's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,554
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Syracuse, New York (Camillus)
02.23.2011, 02:22 PM

Maybe remove the black and red wires from the plug and reverse them


RC-Monster RC8T 1515 2.5D/MMM/5s RC-M 4500mah
SC10 MMPro 13.5T 2s NeuEnery 5000mah
RC18T Mamba 25/5400kv 2s lipo + 6s NiMh
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
alport
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
02.23.2011, 02:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by E-Revonut View Post
Maybe remove the black and red wires from the plug and reverse them
not reversing plug wires but you can reverse servo motor wires . I assume it will work and not hard to do.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
J57ltr
RC-Monster Aluminum
 
Offline
Posts: 610
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tomball/ Houston Tx.
02.23.2011, 02:49 PM

I think that would not work because the feedback would be looking for it to be in another position. It would be like having your steering servo reversed on your radio and as you take off it drifts a little left so you turn right and it goes further left so you add more right until you slam into the retaining wall. (like I did drag racing).

It would make more sense to switch the 1 and 3 terminals on the pot, since it's the feedback device, I think.

Jeff


The Warnings & Cautions discussed in this manual cant cover all possible conditions/situations. It must be understood that common sense and caution are factors which cant be built into this product.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
lincpimp
Check out my huge box!
 
lincpimp's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 11,934
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Slidell, LA
02.23.2011, 02:53 PM

Buy a servo reverser, they are not that expensive, and most I have seen have a pot so you can center the 2nd servo independantly of the 1st (but you must center the 1st servo 1st).

I had to use one on my 6x6 maxx.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
BrianG
RC-Monster Admin
 
BrianG's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 14,609
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Des Moines, IA
02.23.2011, 03:08 PM

Does your radio have a channel mixing feature? If so, hook the camera swivel servo to CH3, slave CH3 to CH1 (steering), and then reverse the rotation of CH3 via the radio.

Other than that, changing the linkage like What's nitro suggests would probably be the easiest.
  Send a message via Yahoo to BrianG Send a message via MSN to BrianG  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
What's_nitro?
Soldermaster Extraordinaire
 
What's_nitro?'s Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 4,529
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Plymouth, MA, USA
02.23.2011, 03:17 PM

I think he might have the camera attached to the top of the servo (no linkage)... In which case you would need a servo reverser or have to do some internal work on the servo to reverse it.


I am faster than Buzz Lightyear.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
mamba max1
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
mamba max1's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 127
Join Date: Jun 2010
02.23.2011, 05:48 PM

I do have the camera attached to the top of the servo. I don't mind doing internal work on the servo....just need to know what to do.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
What's_nitro?
Soldermaster Extraordinaire
 
What's_nitro?'s Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 4,529
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Plymouth, MA, USA
02.23.2011, 05:51 PM

If you want to modify the servo, I think you just need to reverse the potentiometer leads. Usually it's the two outer-most leads of the 3, assuming the wiper is the center lead. That will make the servo spin the opposite direction.


I am faster than Buzz Lightyear.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
noir522
RC-Monster Stock
 
Offline
Posts: 23
Join Date: Oct 2009
02.26.2011, 12:36 PM

minimun soldering "how to reverse your servo"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EK_FdRTenl0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_bkZcOS32Uc

Last edited by noir522; 02.26.2011 at 01:28 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
What's_nitro?
Soldermaster Extraordinaire
 
What's_nitro?'s Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 4,529
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Plymouth, MA, USA
02.26.2011, 12:58 PM

Ahh OK so the motor wires need to be reversed, too. I thought the CPU in the servo would detect which way to spin the motor based on the POT signal, independent of the signal it recieved from the Rx.


I am faster than Buzz Lightyear.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
mamba max1
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
mamba max1's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 127
Join Date: Jun 2010
02.26.2011, 02:42 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by noir522 View Post
Thanks for those links! I had actually reversed my motor on a different servo, but it didn't work. now I know why.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
simplechamp
RC-Monster Titanium
 
simplechamp's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 1,884
Join Date: Jul 2009
02.26.2011, 06:40 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by E-Revonut View Post
Maybe remove the black and red wires from the plug and reverse them
I wouldn't do that. At the least it won't work, at the most it will fry the servo.


Caster Fusion F8T - Serpent 811Be - Jammin X2 carbon e-GT conversion - Axial SCX10
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
BrianG
RC-Monster Admin
 
BrianG's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 14,609
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Des Moines, IA
02.26.2011, 06:58 PM

@simplechamp: Yikes, I missed that! You're right, that will blow the servo internals. Can't forget a servo actually has an ESC and motor in one package, not just a motor. It would be like hooking a real ESC backwards.

I still think channel mixing is wayyy easier than all that modding... that is if the radio supports it.
  Send a message via Yahoo to BrianG Send a message via MSN to BrianG  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



RC Monster




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com