RC-Monster Forums  
RC Monster

Go Back   RC-Monster Forums > Support Forums > General Electric

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 32 votes, 4.94 average. Display Modes
Old
  (#61)
whitrzac
Can't catch this...
 
whitrzac's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 1,142
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: baraboo, WI
08.20.2010, 08:29 PM

120v at 15amps is 1800 watts
12v at 100amps is only 1200 watts
120v at 10amps is 1200 watts..


at 100 amps, the wires might start to twitch when you turn it on...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
florianz
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
Offline
Posts: 354
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hamburg, Germany
08.28.2010, 04:44 PM

great stuff!
I've converted a used 500w CP-Power-Supply (very cheap at ebay, sufficient for me), wich works fine. There's no need to spend so much money for a overpriced power supply. just go for used "brand"-stuff and you'll be ok, I wouldn't trust the no-name.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
brushlessboy16
Im not dark, Im over ripened! xD
 
brushlessboy16's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 5,607
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Westampton NJ
09.02.2010, 12:30 AM

Just bought 2 of these guys! Gonna wire them in parallel for 800 watts, Power all my chargers or My Amp and subs in my dorm room....

Couldnt pass up a dollar a peice! was 17 dollars for 2, shipped. Get em while there hot


Benjamin White
R/c Monster Team Driver
Jq the car, LST, Sportweks turmoil pro
Unconventional Techniques, Superior Results
  Send a message via Yahoo to brushlessboy16 Send a message via AIM to brushlessboy16 Send a message via MSN to brushlessboy16 Send a message via Skype™ to brushlessboy16 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
Nard Cox
n00b
 
Offline
Posts: 519
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
09.02.2010, 03:23 AM

OMG .. Only in America ...


Mugen MBX6Te RCM + Mugen MBX6e RCM + Savage Flux XL FLM + MERV all with Spectrum DX3S || WTS&WTB
  Send a message via MSN to Nard Cox  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
brushlessboy16
Im not dark, Im over ripened! xD
 
brushlessboy16's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 5,607
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Westampton NJ
09.02.2010, 09:30 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nard Cox View Post
OMG .. Only in America ...
W00t!


Benjamin White
R/c Monster Team Driver
Jq the car, LST, Sportweks turmoil pro
Unconventional Techniques, Superior Results
  Send a message via Yahoo to brushlessboy16 Send a message via AIM to brushlessboy16 Send a message via MSN to brushlessboy16 Send a message via Skype™ to brushlessboy16 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
brushlessboy16
Im not dark, Im over ripened! xD
 
brushlessboy16's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 5,607
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Westampton NJ
09.07.2010, 12:29 PM




Benjamin White
R/c Monster Team Driver
Jq the car, LST, Sportweks turmoil pro
Unconventional Techniques, Superior Results
  Send a message via Yahoo to brushlessboy16 Send a message via AIM to brushlessboy16 Send a message via MSN to brushlessboy16 Send a message via Skype™ to brushlessboy16 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
ANGRY-ALIEN
RC-Monster Aluminum
 
ANGRY-ALIEN's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 809
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: JAMAICA
09.07.2010, 12:45 PM

Good find man ... just be careful when wiring them in parallel... keep the cases separated and hands off during operation...


Alien
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
brushlessboy16
Im not dark, Im over ripened! xD
 
brushlessboy16's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 5,607
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Westampton NJ
09.07.2010, 06:04 PM

Will do Alien, Progress pics. Got them Wired up, and all the startup wiring done so the thing actually arms...
Great guide for the HP #194989 and HP #280127 can be found here:

CLICK ME
Have yet to put a load on it, or plug it in yet, need connectors to go to my load of choice (700watt amp and dual 8in subs)

Progress Pics:

Grounding the (PS_enable), (PS_interlock) and (PS_kill) signal pins



12Ga Power Leads attached, Negatives on the outside, large 12v rail in the center




Ran the 2nd (PSU_Interlock_2) Pin to +12v







They are complete


Benjamin White
R/c Monster Team Driver
Jq the car, LST, Sportweks turmoil pro
Unconventional Techniques, Superior Results
  Send a message via Yahoo to brushlessboy16 Send a message via AIM to brushlessboy16 Send a message via MSN to brushlessboy16 Send a message via Skype™ to brushlessboy16 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
snellemin
2 KiloWatt RACER
 
snellemin's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,494
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston
09.07.2010, 08:33 PM

Nice!!!


6 KiloWatt A123 Racer
GTP-Pletty Big Maxximum+RX8. GTP-C50-6L Hacker+RX8. CRT.5-Pro4+ZTW esc.
24s2p EVG SX 49.6mph Ebike.
18s4p Raptor 60mph Ebike. 11.5KW
   
Reply With Quote
Good info
Old
  (#70)
JERRY2KONE
JERRY2KONE SUPERMAXX
 
JERRY2KONE's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 3,452
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: HAYMARKET VIRGINIA
Good info - 09.07.2010, 09:07 PM

Nice thread. Good info. It looks like some comapnies are doing some server upgrades, and a few employees are cashing in on the out dated power supplies?? I know allot of businesses could care less where the old equipment goes when these upgrades are in progress. It's just too much work for them to advertise, sell, and ship old equipment, so they just junk them and move on. Nice home resolution though. I have a friend who does this kind of work for a living so I will have to ask him to hook me up with a few of these for my own power supply needs. He maintains a couple of very large server facilities for a security company, which handles the majority of American banks account transactions across the USA, so I am sure that he can come up with a few PSU's for me. Using the info on here I should be able to setup a sizable PSU for my R/C needs.


SUPERMAXX YOUR LIFE.

Last edited by JERRY2KONE; 09.07.2010 at 09:07 PM. Reason: SPELLING
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
brushlessboy16
Im not dark, Im over ripened! xD
 
brushlessboy16's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 5,607
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Westampton NJ
09.07.2010, 09:16 PM

Lesons learned today,
-Heatsinks contain floating high voltage
-My power supply sounds like an idling 747....
-My subs run just fine on 1 400watt unit.
-80hz shakes my room, my house, and my neighbors house
-80hz blasting aggrovates my parents in about a minute.

:) now i have a spare 400watt unit


Benjamin White
R/c Monster Team Driver
Jq the car, LST, Sportweks turmoil pro
Unconventional Techniques, Superior Results
  Send a message via Yahoo to brushlessboy16 Send a message via AIM to brushlessboy16 Send a message via MSN to brushlessboy16 Send a message via Skype™ to brushlessboy16 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
snellemin
2 KiloWatt RACER
 
snellemin's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,494
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston
09.07.2010, 09:30 PM

lol, I use to have 4 10" subs in a gigantic box in my room. That sucker went below 10hz. Went on every morning as a alarm. Imagine 600W rms going off at 9am. I use to run car amps. I've have a few other Server PSU and plan to setup a system in my garage with the spare car audio that I have left over.

my high school setup.



6 KiloWatt A123 Racer
GTP-Pletty Big Maxximum+RX8. GTP-C50-6L Hacker+RX8. CRT.5-Pro4+ZTW esc.
24s2p EVG SX 49.6mph Ebike.
18s4p Raptor 60mph Ebike. 11.5KW

Last edited by snellemin; 09.07.2010 at 09:35 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
ANGRY-ALIEN
RC-Monster Aluminum
 
ANGRY-ALIEN's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 809
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: JAMAICA
09.07.2010, 11:45 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by brushlessboy16 View Post
Lesons learned today,
-Heatsinks contain floating high voltage
-My power supply sounds like an idling 747....
-My subs run just fine on 1 400watt unit.
-80hz shakes my room, my house, and my neighbors house
-80hz blasting aggrovates my parents in about a minute.

:) now i have a spare 400watt unit
A good reason for them not to touch when they are on... you can get a big spark between them... you can even short the internals... did you remove the ground to get them running together?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
brushlessboy16
Im not dark, Im over ripened! xD
 
brushlessboy16's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 5,607
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Westampton NJ
09.07.2010, 11:48 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ANGRY-ALIEN View Post
A good reason for them not to touch when they are on... you can get a big spark between them... you can even short the internals... did you remove the ground to get them running together?
It was unplugged, just had not discharged yet,

Amp was running fine on just 1 PSU tho


Benjamin White
R/c Monster Team Driver
Jq the car, LST, Sportweks turmoil pro
Unconventional Techniques, Superior Results
  Send a message via Yahoo to brushlessboy16 Send a message via AIM to brushlessboy16 Send a message via MSN to brushlessboy16 Send a message via Skype™ to brushlessboy16 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
ANGRY-ALIEN
RC-Monster Aluminum
 
ANGRY-ALIEN's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 809
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: JAMAICA
09.07.2010, 11:55 PM

Yep... those Caps will hold a bit for a while...
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



RC Monster




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com