RC Monster

Go Back   RC-Monster Forums > RC-Monster Area > General Discussion

Need help choosing a 3d cad program
Old
  (#1)
C-5Quad
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber

Need help choosing a 3d cad program - 03.01.2013, 12:52 PM

I love modifying and making adaptions to make my life easier and more fun. But I am a quadriplegic so making custom parts with my hands not working is beyond difficult. I want to learn how to use a 3d cad program so I can design my own custom parts and buy a 3d printer to make prototypes.

I have seen a few members here post some cad designs and I'm hoping they can point me in a good direction. I don't mind a steep learning curve I am mainly looking to get my feet wet and see if it is something I can get into. I won't invest in a printer unless I can become efficient in cad first.

I was thinking about autocad student but am open to sugestions.

Any advice is welcome as I have zero experience in any 3d design.

Also I'd like to be able to learn as much as possible at home mainly online tutorial videos or something as I don't have the funds to attend cources.

Thanks

Old
  (#2)
WheelMan
Do Epic Sh!t

03.01.2013, 02:58 PM

For 3D modeling, AutoDesk Inventor is a WONDERFUL piece of software. I would highly recommend you at least take a look at it.

It has a very user friendly interface, and can do some very powerful things. I used it for a couple years at work, and wish I still was.

Second to Inventor (IMO) would be Solidworks. It is also a great programe to work with. Much of the same great qualities, but a little different of course, and just not my favorite like Inventor.

And both of these programs have plenty of online tutorial support.

-Travis

Adults are just kids, with money.
Common sense, is not so common.

Last edited by WheelMan; 03.01.2013 at 03:04 PM.

Old
  (#3)
rcs2022
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber

03.02.2013, 02:33 PM