RC-Monster Forums  
RC Monster

Go Back   RC-Monster Forums > Support Forums > Crawlers/Scale Vehicles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Radio for crawler ?
Old
  (#1)
rchippie
RC-Monster Brushless
 
rchippie's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,824
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: largo fl
Radio for crawler ? - 02.16.2009, 12:02 AM

Im considering getting a crawler & have a couple of ?'s about radios . Can i use my m8 or is a stick radio better ?. I would'nt be entering comps or anything . The crawler im looking at does'nt have dig. So i would'nt need extra channels as of yet . I dont want to have to get another radio in case i dont like crawling . My m8 has a auxillary channel . could i us that for the dig unit if i get one latter ?.


REAL MEN RUN BRUSHLESS
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
lincpimp
Check out my huge box!
 
lincpimp's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 11,933
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Slidell, LA
02.16.2009, 12:12 AM

I run mine with an m8, no reason not to use a wheel radio. Super class crawlers with dual motor on axle (MOA) setups and 4 wheel steering (4WS) use stick radios due to their channel mixing capabilities (CMC).

So have fun, and use whatever you have (WYH). Dig is not really necessary unless you plan to compete, and you can use the m8 3rd cannel to control it.

The last two of those quoted letters were pure BS, BTW.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
rchippie
RC-Monster Brushless
 
rchippie's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,824
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: largo fl
02.16.2009, 12:17 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by lincpimp View Post
I run mine with an m8, no reason not to use a wheel radio. Super class crawlers with dual motor on axle (MOA) setups and 4 wheel steering (4WS) use stick radios due to their channel mixing capabilities (CMC).

So have fun, and use whatever you have (WYH). Dig is not really necessary unless you plan to compete, and you can use the m8 3rd cannel to control it.

The last two of those quoted letters were pure BS, BTW.
Thank's for your repliy . What is dig used for anyway ?.


REAL MEN RUN BRUSHLESS
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Arct1k
RC-Monster Mod
 
Arct1k's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 6,595
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NJ
02.16.2009, 12:27 AM

I use both a dx6 and a dx3r...

The dx6 allows for 4ws and independent front and rear drive.

The dx3r is in the ax10 with dig - this allows for locked running, free rear (for some climbing situations when rear will drive will cause you to flip), locked rear (allows a tight turning radius as front pulls reara around)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
rchippie
RC-Monster Brushless
 
rchippie's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,824
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: largo fl
02.16.2009, 12:33 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arct1k View Post
I use both a dx6 and a dx3r...

The dx6 allows for 4ws and independent front and rear drive.

The dx3r is in the ax10 with dig - this allows for locked running, free rear (for some climbing situations when rear will drive will cause you to flip), locked rear (allows a tight turning radius as front pulls reara around)

So dig locks the rear wheels so they drag instead of spin ?.


REAL MEN RUN BRUSHLESS
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
lincpimp
Check out my huge box!
 
lincpimp's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 11,933
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Slidell, LA
02.16.2009, 01:21 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rchippie View Post
So dig locks the rear wheels so they drag instead of spin ?.
A 3 position can lock the wheels so that they drag, let them freewheel, and have normal 4wd. Some older digs were 2 position that did not have freewheel and were used primarily for tighter turning. Freewheel is good for some climbing when the axle is trying to drive under an obstacle, and for running down steep slopes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
rchippie
RC-Monster Brushless
 
rchippie's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,824
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: largo fl
02.16.2009, 01:35 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by lincpimp View Post
A 3 position can lock the wheels so that they drag, let them freewheel, and have normal 4wd. Some older digs were 2 position that did not have freewheel and were used primarily for tighter turning. Freewheel is good for some climbing when the axle is trying to drive under an obstacle, and for running down steep slopes.

How does the dig frewheel ?.


REAL MEN RUN BRUSHLESS
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
TexasSP
Something, anything, nothing
 
TexasSP's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,747
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Houston, TX
02.16.2009, 09:23 AM

Take a look at rc4wd as they have some crawler specific controllers coming out. I think a lot of people will be snatching those up.

Quote:
How does the dig frewheel ?.
The third position effectively disconnects the rear drive internally.


www.cubicle101.com
A friends comic strip website.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
rchippie
RC-Monster Brushless
 
rchippie's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,824
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: largo fl
02.16.2009, 10:22 AM

I found this dig unit . It's a little pricey. https://rcpcrawlers.com/product.php?productid=1136


REAL MEN RUN BRUSHLESS
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
TexasSP
Something, anything, nothing
 
TexasSP's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,747
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Houston, TX
02.16.2009, 12:29 PM

It's a top notch dig unit though. Check out rccrawler.com in the marketplace and you can find used ones in there a lot.

Here is this one for 43.00, I can vouch for RPP, the are top notch!

http://www.shop.rpphobby.com/product...productId=1101


www.cubicle101.com
A friends comic strip website.

Last edited by TexasSP; 02.16.2009 at 12:32 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
rchippie
RC-Monster Brushless
 
rchippie's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,824
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: largo fl
02.16.2009, 01:52 PM

Im considering trading for this crawler from skellyo . He said i would have to make a very slight mod for the dig to fit . But that it is very easy to do .

http://skellyo.com/fs/DMGCrawler/


REAL MEN RUN BRUSHLESS
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
TexasSP
Something, anything, nothing
 
TexasSP's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,747
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Houston, TX
02.16.2009, 02:14 PM

That's a nice crawler, I would go for it.


www.cubicle101.com
A friends comic strip website.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
rchippie
RC-Monster Brushless
 
rchippie's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,824
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: largo fl
02.16.2009, 02:25 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasSP View Post
That's a nice crawler, I would go for it.
Im thinking about it . The good thing about this crawler is i know sean takes care of his stuff .


REAL MEN RUN BRUSHLESS
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Arct1k
RC-Monster Mod
 
Arct1k's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 6,595
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NJ
02.16.2009, 06:31 PM

looks nice... i picked up a HR dig for ax10 - works pretty well
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
rchippie
RC-Monster Brushless
 
rchippie's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,824
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: largo fl
02.17.2009, 09:33 PM

I just traded skellyo for his crawler . I will be picking it up friday or saturday . It has a brushed integy 45t motor know . But i think i would like to go brushless from the start . What is a good BL crawler motor for a beginner ?. I will be using a MM esc & FP 3s 1600 lipo's . Also should i use a externale bec or is the bec in the MM good enough ?. This is know mine .

http://skellyo.com/fs/DMGCrawler/


REAL MEN RUN BRUSHLESS

Last edited by rchippie; 02.17.2009 at 09:37 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



RC Monster




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com