RC-Monster Forums  
RC Monster

Go Back   RC-Monster Forums > Support Forums > Castle Creations

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
New Monster?
Old
  (#1)
NE32
RC-Monster Stock
 
NE32's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 17
Join Date: Dec 2010
New Monster? - 05.14.2011, 02:23 AM

Isn't it about time castle did a major update of the Mamba Monster?
Maybe Data logging , smaller size or a sensor port.
Castle must sell bucket loads of these things and just like the Mamba Max will the monster evolve?


Ben
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
What's_nitro?
Soldermaster Extraordinaire
 
What's_nitro?'s Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 4,529
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Plymouth, MA, USA
05.14.2011, 02:33 AM

Evolution takes time. Let's give it a few hundred millennia and see what happens.


I am faster than Buzz Lightyear.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
DrKnow65
RC-Monster Aluminum
 
DrKnow65's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 998
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Colorado
05.14.2011, 02:51 AM

8S, 200amps, data logging, sensor option, 20amp BEC, bomb proof internal fan, water proof, no switch, mounting tabs, progressive forward/neutral/reverse LED's...

All in the footprint of a MMP :-)


If I could only draw what I see in my head, then afford to build it, and finaly get to play with it...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
TexasSP
Something, anything, nothing
 
TexasSP's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,747
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Houston, TX
05.14.2011, 10:03 AM

If it ain't broke why fix it. I just have to wonder, how many people that buy them would actually use data logging? My guess is less than 1%.


www.cubicle101.com
A friends comic strip website.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
brainanator
RC-Monster Aluminum
 
brainanator's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 738
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Williston, ND
05.14.2011, 10:03 AM

I would love data logging :D


OFNA Jammin CRT.5e, Savage Flux HP, MBX5Te, SCX10, Multirotors, foam planes
  Send a message via Yahoo to brainanator Send a message via MSN to brainanator  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
DrKnow65
RC-Monster Aluminum
 
DrKnow65's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 998
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Colorado
05.15.2011, 02:12 AM

Have it on my Losi 8 (MMXL) and my hyper 10SC (ICE HV80), I look at both logs all the time. Realy useful when I change battery voltage/capacity, gear changes, tire changes, ESC settings, even suspension changes (nice to see how much throttle I'm using to compensate for nose diving while jumping).


If I could only draw what I see in my head, then afford to build it, and finaly get to play with it...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
suicideneil
Old Skool
 
suicideneil's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 7,494
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Devon, England
05.15.2011, 09:54 PM

MMM Pro was briefly discussed a while back ( sensored version basically ), but there isnt really much castle could do to the MMM without totally redesigning it > new esc essentially.

The MMPro is almost as capable as the MMM + has sensored capability, but data logging in such a small esc would be tricky ( look at the size of an MGM esc or the MM(M)XL for instance )...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
littleazn248
RC-Monster Stock
 
Offline
Posts: 24
Join Date: Nov 2009
05.15.2011, 11:02 PM

I'm already satisfied with the MMM considering how long we've waited for it to come out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
DrKnow65
RC-Monster Aluminum
 
DrKnow65's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 998
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Colorado
05.16.2011, 12:48 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by suicideneil View Post
MMM Pro was briefly discussed a while back ( sensored version basically ), but there isnt really much castle could do to the MMM without totally redesigning it > new esc essentially.

The MMPro is almost as capable as the MMM + has sensored capability, but data logging in such a small esc would be tricky ( look at the size of an MGM esc or the MM(M)XL for instance )...
I dont think the data logging processor takes much board space, check the dimensions on a Phoenix ICE HV 40, it's tiny!


If I could only draw what I see in my head, then afford to build it, and finaly get to play with it...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
NE32
RC-Monster Stock
 
NE32's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 17
Join Date: Dec 2010
05.16.2011, 04:53 AM

Well the Sidewinder and Mamba Max have both had major overhauls after a few years so it is a possible that the monster is due for it


Ben
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
suicideneil
Old Skool
 
suicideneil's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 7,494
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Devon, England
05.16.2011, 04:58 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrKnow65 View Post
I dont think the data logging processor takes much board space, check the dimensions on a Phoenix ICE HV 40, it's tiny!
Hmm, true, although that esc is only rated for 40amps- the more comparable ~120amp escs ( lite or regular flavour ) are somewhat larger, though it would be interesting to see how much space the data logging components actually take up for any given current rating..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Pdelcast
RC-Monster Titanium
 
Pdelcast's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 1,697
Join Date: Mar 2008
05.16.2011, 07:05 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by NE32 View Post
Isn't it about time castle did a major update of the Mamba Monster?
Maybe Data logging , smaller size or a sensor port.
Castle must sell bucket loads of these things and just like the Mamba Max will the monster evolve?

Maybe.

Maybe not.


Patrick del Castillo
President, Principle Engineer
Castle Creations
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Semi Pro
RC-Monster Titanium
 
Semi Pro's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 1,402
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Twin Citys Mn
05.16.2011, 08:44 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pdelcast View Post
Maybe.

Maybe not.
Stop playing with my heart patrick!


data loging on everything castle would really force the reds and the ornges to step their game up


Quote:
Originally Posted by Semi Pro View Post
......maybe they want to be more like novak
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianG View Post
I'm telling Patrick you said that!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
hemiblas
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
hemiblas's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 433
Join Date: Oct 2007
05.16.2011, 10:44 PM

Once you have a great product why change it. In my opinion nothing really compares for the price and I'm sure they would like to make back R&D costs and then start generating as much profit as they can.
Sounds like a new controller might be in order. 8S, and all the other bells and whistles DrKnow mentioned sound cool, but that sounds more like a pretty serious re-design.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
What's_nitro?
Soldermaster Extraordinaire
 
What's_nitro?'s Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 4,529
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Plymouth, MA, USA
05.16.2011, 11:22 PM

They could just use a different FET...maybe add another power board and mold a new case. Voila! MMMHV!


I am faster than Buzz Lightyear.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



RC Monster




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com