RC-Monster Forums  
RC Monster

Go Back   RC-Monster Forums > Questions and Answers > General Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Electrical issue question for you guys
Old
  (#1)
Cain
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
Offline
Posts: 406
Join Date: Jan 2008
Electrical issue question for you guys - 01.11.2015, 04:17 PM

Hey everyone.

I am curious if anyone has heard of an issue like this.

Basically, I think a servo I have is killing my speed controls.

First hook up of the brand new servo caused wierd issues with the ESC like it going almost into a failsafe mode.

After a few tries, the ESC just bricked.

Sent it in, bought a replacement under warranty and had the servo checked out with the ESC as its sold by the same company.

hooked the new ESC up with the servo, went to setup my vehicle again and whammo, same problem, and this one is now bricked too, even quicker than the before.

Luckily used the in warranty ESC

so as trying to avoid this problem again, I want to know if anyone has heard of servos every doing this?

The only thing that i didn't send to the company to test was my receivers, which are futaba but I have never had an issue with the other products I run from them and these servos, like 4 of the same ESCs. But, my servos were all hitec (tried a different brand due to specs and being waterproof).

Anyway, anyone heard of anything like this?

Gear being used is:

- 5000mah 4S 50C battery
- Futaba R2104GF Receiver or R204GF-E Receiver.
- Tekin 2000kv truggy motor and a Viper 2100kv 1/8 motor
- V TX-8 ESC
- X-pert brand WR7701 Servo

Just at a loss at what is going on and can't finish my project vehicle, a basically Mad Force made to look like a lifted truck. Happens so quick that its literally bench testing end points that it happens as soon as I move the steering, browns out the ESC and goes to this failed status :(
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
Arct1k
RC-Monster Mod
 
Arct1k's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 6,595
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NJ
01.11.2015, 08:18 PM

Yes absolutely I've had this before which is why I use external BEC.

I've still had servos take out a rx when they go bad.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Cain
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
Offline
Posts: 406
Join Date: Jan 2008
01.12.2015, 12:28 PM

thanks for the response!

I am like pulling my hair at this point as I got this vehicle I am working on and I want to run it but this is the second go around now with this issue.

So the servo in short is putting too much of a demand on the BEC of the ESC causing it to crap out.

Is there something I can look for on the servo itself to confirm this? I have the Viper Progauge that has servo testing ability.

Just not sure where to start.

Thanks for any help you can offer!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Arct1k
RC-Monster Mod
 
Arct1k's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 6,595
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NJ
01.12.2015, 01:59 PM

You can buy a servo amp meter to see how much current is drawing but cheaper to just try a castle BEC.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
Cain
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
Offline
Posts: 406
Join Date: Jan 2008
01.12.2015, 02:37 PM

thanks. unfortunately do to the nature of the Viper esc setups its bricked now.

I do have an external BEC unit I can rig up, but really don't want to do that with my out of warranty ESCs and whammo back to possibly bricking another and then being on the hook.

Not happy to say the least. Wish Hitec made a version of the 7955TG that was waterproof.

with the Viper prograuge I have that can do measuring, what should I look for as far as readings that are bad in a general sense?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
bdebde
That's All Folks!
 
bdebde's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 2,359
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: in a VAN down by the RIVER
01.12.2015, 03:04 PM

You can hook up the BEC with no ESC involved to test the servo... just plug the BEC and servo into reciever and leave ESC wire out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Cain
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
Offline
Posts: 406
Join Date: Jan 2008
01.12.2015, 03:14 PM

hmm, okay. So basically I need to wire the BEC up to the power source like I would normally with the ESC but no esc so its direct.

The BEC I have sitting around is a hobbywing 5A one:

http://www.hobbywing.com/product_show.asp?id=208

that make sense?

I think the proguage may let me wire a battery direct to it to as well for testing, should be interesting.

Last edited by Cain; 01.12.2015 at 03:20 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Arct1k
RC-Monster Mod
 
Arct1k's Avatar
 
Offline
Posts: 6,595
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NJ
01.12.2015, 07:29 PM

Arnt the brushless ones now waterproof
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Cain
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
Offline
Posts: 406
Join Date: Jan 2008
01.12.2015, 08:33 PM

if you are referring to the servos, they have a line of servos that are waterproof, this one being the one that had the highest torque rating so I wanted to give it a try.

Looks like it will be going back to them to check it out again along with the motor and the esc.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
ruudxd
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
Offline
Posts: 219
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: The Netherlands.
01.15.2015, 03:26 PM

I do not understand how pulling the red power wire out plug of the ESC cable to the receiver will void the warranty?
You do not have to open the ESC itself to do that?
Just lift up the little lip on the connector of the receiver wire, and pull the little red cable out.

Do not power the receiver with the ESC and a seperate BEC at one time!
That will blow up your receiver, most likely.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
Cain
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
Offline
Posts: 406
Join Date: Jan 2008
01.15.2015, 03:35 PM

what I am getting at is I don't want to "test" it with an out of warranty esc and say something happens due to the servo again, and whammo, more money out of pocket.

Rather test it if needed with an in warranty esc and go from there.

funny, if I kept trying to get stuff to work as I thought it was just the ESC would have been one really expensive servo. already a $200 unit now with replacing the damaged one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
ruudxd
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
Offline
Posts: 219
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: The Netherlands.
01.15.2015, 04:17 PM

Ah, sorry, I did not read that!
That is understandable indeed.
Why is the ESC you have now out of warranty?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Cain
RC-Monster Carbon Fiber
 
Offline
Posts: 406
Join Date: Jan 2008
01.15.2015, 04:28 PM

had it longer than the warranty period that's all.

So when the servo apparently took out the ESC, on the hook for the replacement. They did work with me on the cost though and have been quite responsive. Liked it enough that I bought a few more of their products.

Just need to get this servo issue taken care of. Was lucky that the second ESC I hooked up and did the same thing didn't crap out completely and when in use with other servos is fine.

Last edited by Cain; 01.15.2015 at 04:43 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



RC Monster




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com