RC Monster

Go Back   RC-Monster Forums > Support Forums > Brushless

Making an esc better?
Old
  (#1)
AAngel

Making an esc better? - 04.28.2007, 03:38 AM

Hey guys,

This is just for the purpose of chatter and perhaps my gaining some insight. I've been cruising this forum for a few months now and it is apparent that there are some electronics savvy guys/gals here.

I've often come across comments like the Mamba Max would be better if....

Well, I'm sure that the guys at Castle had a product in mind when they conceived the MM controller that would fulfill a particular need. The number of MMs that I've smoked in the last couple of months has told me that my needs exceed the capabilities of the current MM. Of course, the MMM is coming out sometime in the next decade, but I don't want to have to wait.

What I would like to know is whether there is a way to "upgrade" a MM to enable it to run 5S lipo reliably and up the current handling capacity of the MM esc. I like the MM's programmability and its form factor, so I thought I'd ask. If it is at all do-able, I might be inclined to try. I have a couple of guinea pigs sitting on my bench.

Old
  (#2)
nativepaul
RC-Monster Aluminum

04.28.2007, 07:11 AM

Ive not heard it done with castle controllers but in the SAWs (top speed record running) boat world, there isn't a speedo available that will cope with the currents of a sub 10 second runtime, some folks have taken the schultze 32/160 and stacked extra powerboards on to increase the current handeling ability, if the MM has seperate boards for the brains and power it may be possible too.

I don't belive there is any way to increse the voltage it will work with bar desoldering alll the components and replacing them with higher voltage versions(if they fit), but with the time, knowledge and expense that would take you could probably build a new controller to your specs.

Old
  (#3)
AAngel

04.28.2007, 12:52 PM